What it is
Sudowrite is an AI writing app made for novelists, short-story writers and screenwriters rather than marketers. Tools like Write, Rewrite, Describe and Expand continue a scene, offer alternative versions or add sensory detail. It keeps track of your characters, world and plot so suggestions stay consistent across a book or series, and it can match your own writing style.
It runs its own fiction models, Muse and Ballad, alongside 30+ models from Anthropic, OpenAI and open-source providers. Sudowrite says it does not train on your writing and claims no rights over what you write or generate. Higher plans add AI developmental edits, line edits and beta-reader style feedback.
Our review
Sudowrite earns its place by remembering the book. General chatbots lose track of characters and plot over a long manuscript; Sudowrite keeps story information attached to the project, offers several versions of each passage and runs Muse, a model tuned for fiction, alongside more than 30 others from Anthropic, OpenAI and open-source providers.
The credit system is where the real cost lives. Sudowrite's own blog says there is no fixed rate per word: in its test, 200 words of continuation cost about 70 credits with GPT-5 Nano and more than 8,000 with Claude 4.1 Opus, because every request also pays to read the story context. Muse runs at roughly 5,000 to 15,000 credits per 1,000 words by its estimate, so an 80,000-word draft takes about 960,000 credits. That fits one month of Professional and four or five months of Hobby.
The advertised prices are annual-billing rates. Hobby is $10 a month paid yearly or $19 monthly, Professional $22 or $29 and Max $44 or $59. Only Max rolls unused credits over, for 12 months; on the other plans a quiet month is money lost. The pricing page lists developmental edits, line edits and beta-reader feedback on Professional and Max.
The terms are clear on the points writers care about most. The FAQ says Sudowrite does not use your writing to train AI models and claims no rights over anything you put in or generate, and cancelled users keep access to their projects. It does not say what Anthropic or OpenAI do with text routed to their models. The harder question is professional: many publishers, agents and contests restrict AI-generated prose, and the cleanest contract terms do not change that.
Where it earns its place
A self-published romance author releasing four books a year
Draft and revise faster without losing series continuity
Professional at $22 a month billed yearly gives 1 million credits, roughly one Muse-drafted novel a month by Sudowrite's estimate, plus developmental and line edits. The output still needs a human edit before it reads like the author.
A literary novelist querying agents
Brainstorm and get beta-reader style feedback without generated prose in the manuscript
Use Describe, brainstorm and the feedback tools rather than Write, so the submitted text stays the author's own. Check each agent's and publisher's AI policy first; Sudowrite's terms do not settle that.
An author running a 300,000-word fantasy series
Keep generation costs down while the story context grows
Every request pays to read the attached context, so draft routine scenes on a budget model at around 350 to 1,000 credits per 1,000 words and save Muse or Opus for key chapters. Sudowrite says mixing models cuts costs by 40 to 60%.
Before you commit
- Setup
- Start the free trial without a card, create a project, add characters and world notes, then use Write, Rewrite, Describe or Expand inside the editor.
- Integrations
- Browser-based editor only; no public API is published, and models from Anthropic, OpenAI and open-source providers are chosen inside the app.
- Data and privacy
- Sudowrite says it does not train on your writing and claims no rights over input or output; it does not state the retention terms of the third-party model providers it routes text to.
- Cost at scale
- A full-time novelist on Max pays $528 a year billed yearly or $708 monthly for 2 million credits a month; drafting everything on a premium model like Claude Opus can still need extra months of credits per book.
- Limits
- Credits per word vary with model, context length and feature; only Max rolls credits over; trial length and trial credits are not stated on the pricing page.
What's good
- Story context keeps characters and plot consistent across a series
- Muse model tuned for fiction, plus 30+ other models
- Writing not used for training; no claim on your output
- Projects stay accessible after cancelling
- Max plan rolls unused credits over for 12 months
What's not
- Headline prices assume yearly billing; monthly is $19 to $59
- Credit use varies over 100-fold by model, so costs are hard to predict
- Credits expire monthly on Hobby and Professional
- Third-party model providers' data handling not stated
- AI prose is restricted by many publishers and contests
Best for
Novelists and screenwriters who want help brainstorming, drafting and revising fiction.
Alternatives
Sudowrite: common questions
- Is Sudowrite worth it?
- Sudowrite is the fiction tool that knows your characters, and its credit meter decides how many chapters you get before the month is out. We rate it 4.2 out of 5.
- How much does Sudowrite cost?
- Hobby & Student $10/month billed yearly or $19 monthly (225k credits); Professional $22 yearly or $29 monthly (1M credits); Max $44 yearly or $59 monthly (2M credits, 12-month rollover). Free trial, no card.
- What are the downsides of Sudowrite?
- Headline prices assume yearly billing; monthly is $19 to $59; credit use varies over 100-fold by model, so costs are hard to predict; credits expire monthly on Hobby and Professional; third-party model providers' data handling not stated; aI prose is restricted by many publishers and contests.
- Who is Sudowrite best for?
- Novelists and screenwriters who want help brainstorming, drafting and revising fiction.
- How much does Sudowrite cost for a team or in production?
- A full-time novelist on Max pays $528 a year billed yearly or $708 monthly for 2 million credits a month; drafting everything on a premium model like Claude Opus can still need extra months of credits per book.
- Is Sudowrite safe for company data?
- Sudowrite says it does not train on your writing and claims no rights over input or output; it does not state the retention terms of the third-party model providers it routes text to.
- What are the best Sudowrite alternatives?
- The closest alternatives we have reviewed are QuillBot and Grammarly.
Answers checked Oct 22, 2026.