Skip to content

Privacy

Which AI tools train on your data?

We checked the published policies of 106 AI tools. 41 train on what you type or upload on individual accounts by default, 5 only if you opt in, and 28 say they do not train on your data at all. Most business and enterprise plans are excluded.

Train on individual accounts by default (41)

Train on individual accounts by default
ToolIndividual plansCan opt outBusiness plansWhat our review says
Base44App builders · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultNoExcluded“Workspace data, including form submissions, can be used for AI training on every plan except Enterprise”
Bolt.newApp builders · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultNot statedNot stated“Forge prompts are used to train open-source models”
CanvaDesign & slides · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Free and Pro users control it themselves in privacy settings, and the current privacy policy says Canva may analyse content in their accounts to train its AI”
ChatGPTChat assistants · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Consumer chats can be used for training unless you opt out; Business, Enterprise and Edu data is not used by default”
ClaudeChat assistants · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Free, Pro and Max chats may be used for training unless you opt out”
Claude CodeCoding · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Team, Enterprise and API: no training, 30-day retention, zero retention on approved Enterprise accounts. Pro and Max: training if the setting is on”
DeepSeekChat assistants · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesNot stated“inputs used for training, with opt-out by email to privacy@deepseek.com”
ElevenLabsAudio & voice · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesNot stated“Training on self-serve inputs is opt-out”
FathomProductivity · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesNot stated“Fathom trains in-house models on de-identified meeting data unless users or a Team admin opt out”
FigmaDesign & slides · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Content training is on by default on Starter and Professional (admin opt-out) and off on Organization and Enterprise”
GammaDesign & slides · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Individual plans may train on your content by default (opt out in Data Controls); Business and Enterprise exclude it”
GitHub CopilotCoding · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“individual plans may train unless you opt out”
Google Antigravity (with Gemini CLI and Jules)Coding · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesNot stated“Personal-account terms allow interactions to be used for training and reviewed by Google staff unless you change the setting”
Google GeminiChat assistants · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Personal accounts keep activity for 18 months by default and use it for training, with human review of a sample; with activity off, chats are held for 72 hours. Gemini Enterprise data is not used for training.”
GrammarlyWriting · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultNot statedExcluded“Training is on by default for Free and self-serve Pro and off and locked for Enterprise, sales-sold and Education accounts”
GranolaProductivity · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Granola trains on anonymised data unless users opt out; Enterprise is off by default.”
GreptileCoding · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesNot stated“de-identified data may be used for training unless an admin opts out”
GumloopAgents & automation · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultNot statedExcluded“Self-serve content may train Gumloop's models; Enterprise excluded unless requested in writing”
HeyGenVideo · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Non-enterprise data may be used for training unless you opt out by email; Enterprise contracts exclude it.”
HiggsfieldVideo · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultNoExcluded“Self-serve inputs and outputs may train Higgsfield's and affiliates' models, with no opt-out short of deletion”
invideo AIVideo · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultNoNot stated“The privacy policy allows training on user content with no opt-out short of deletion”
JetBrains AI (Junie, AI Assistant, Air)Coding · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Detailed code-related data is opt-out on non-commercial individual licences and opt-in elsewhere”
KimiChat assistants · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Consumer: stored in mainland China, de-identified chats used for training, opt-out by contacting support. API: Moonshot AI Pte. Ltd., Singapore servers, enterprise data not trained on by default”
KiroCoding · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Free and individual plans may be used for training unless opted out; Enterprise is excluded.”
Kling AIVideo · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultYesNot stated“Consumer content falls under a training licence with an email opt-out, according to a VerifyWise summary of the policy”
Leonardo.AiImage · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultNoExcluded“Non-private images and prompts are licensed to Leonardo worldwide and in perpetuity and can be used to improve the service; private images on paid plans are not used for that”
Luma (formerly Dream Machine)Video · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultNoNot stated“Terms allow training on inputs and outputs from all app plans with no opt-out”
Meta AIChat assistants · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultNot statedNo business plan“Interactions are used to improve Meta's AI”
Microsoft CopilotChat assistants · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“The Copilot app trains on signed-in adults' conversations by default, with an opt-out and exclusions for under-18s, Entra accounts and six countries”
Mistral Vibe (formerly Le Chat)Chat assistants · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“training on by default for non-Enterprise Vibe plans with an opt-out in privacy settings”
Napkin AIDesign & slides · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesNot stated“Napkin uses data for training unless you opt out of data sharing”
OpenAI CodexCoding · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Free, Plus and Pro tasks can train models unless you opt out in ChatGPT data controls; Business, Enterprise and API data is excluded by default.”
OpusClipVideo · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultNot statedNot stated“uploads may be used to improve the product”
Otter.aiProductivity · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultNoNot stated“The privacy policy allows training on de-identified audio and on transcripts, with no product opt-out”
PikaVideo · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultNot statedExcluded“Terms allow training on anonymised or aggregated inputs and outputs unless an enterprise or written agreement says otherwise”
QuillBotWriting · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Inputs are used for training and stored by default; extension 4.37.0+ offers opt-outs, and Team plan inputs are never trained on.”
RecraftImage · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Studio content from individual accounts trains Recraft's models by default with an opt-out, while Teams and API data are excluded.”
SpeakEducation · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultNot statedNo business plan“voice recordings are used to provide lessons, improve voice input and train and refine AI tools”
SunoAudio & voice · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultNoNo business plan“Uploads grant Suno a perpetual, irrevocable licence to train its models, including on your voice and likeness”
v0App builders · checked Oct 22, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“Training opt-out by default only on Business and Enterprise; Vercel Hobby accounts were opted into training in March 2026.”
Wispr FlowAudio & voice · checked Oct 23, 2026Yes, by defaultYesExcluded“audio, transcripts and edits may train Wispr's models unless sharing is turned off, and Enterprise locks it off.”

Train only if you opt in (5)

Train only if you opt in
ToolIndividual plansCan opt outBusiness plansWhat our review says
AmpCoding · checked Oct 22, 2026Only if you opt in—Excluded“no training unless opted in, never on Enterprise”
LlamaParseDeveloper platforms · checked Oct 23, 2026Only if you opt in—Excluded“No training by default unless an admin opts in”
OpenRouterDeveloper platforms · checked Oct 22, 2026Only if you opt in—Excluded“No prompt or completion storage unless you opt in”
Together AIDeveloper platforms · checked Oct 22, 2026Only if you opt in—Excluded“Not used for training without opt-in”
ZedCoding · checked Oct 22, 2026Only if you opt in—No business plan“Training data is collected only on opt-in for open-source projects.”

Say they do not train on your data (28)

Say they do not train on your data
ToolIndividual plansCan opt outBusiness plansWhat our review says
Adobe FireflyImage · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“Adobe states it does not train Firefly on user content”
Amazon BedrockDeveloper platforms · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“No training on inputs or outputs by AWS or providers”
AttioMarketing & sales · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Excluded“no training on customer data by Attio or providers”
Augment CodeCoding · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Excluded“Paid plans bar AI training on customer data”
BasetenDeveloper platforms · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“no training on customer content”
ClayMarketing & sales · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Excluded“no training on customer data”
CodeRabbitCoding · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“Code goes to OpenAI and/or Anthropic for review only, with no training”
ConsensusSearch & research · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“Queries and content are never used to train AI models”
Devin (incl. Devin Desktop, formerly Windsurf)Coding · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Excluded“customer code is not used for training by default”
EmergentApp builders · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Excluded“Projects, chats and code are not used to train models, according to Emergent”
Factory (Droids)Coding · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“Factory says it does not train on customer code”
Fireflies.aiProductivity · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“meeting data not used for training”
Gemini Notebook (formerly NotebookLM)Search & research · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Excluded“Personal accounts: not used for training unless you give feedback”
HexData & analytics · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Excluded“Hex's LLM providers do not train on customer data”
Jina ReaderDeveloper platforms · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Excluded“No training on inputs or outputs.”
Julius AIData & analytics · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Excluded“Julius says it never trains on customer data”
LangSmithDeveloper platforms · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“no training on customer data”
LindyAgents & automation · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“Lindy says it and its providers do not train on customer data”
Magnific (formerly Freepik AI)Image · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Not stated“The pricing page states no model training on your data for Premium, Premium+ and Pro Starter.”
ManusAgents & automation · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Excluded“The Team page says Manus never allows model training on customer data”
MotionProductivity · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Excluded“no training on customer data by Motion or its LLM providers”
Notion AIProductivity · checked Oct 23, 2026No—Excluded“No training by Notion or its providers”
RaycastProductivity · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“Raycast says it stores no prompts and that provider contracts bar training”
RunwayVideo · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“Runway lists no training on your data”
SudowriteWriting · checked Oct 22, 2026No—No business plan“Sudowrite says it does not train on your writing”
SynthesiaVideo · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“customer inputs and outputs are not used to pre-train models”
UndermindSearch & research · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“proprietary data is never used to train models by it or its model providers”
ZapierAgents & automation · checked Oct 22, 2026No—Excluded“Workflow data not used for training; non-Enterprise plans must opt out of build-pattern learning”

Business-only products (8)

Business-only products
ToolIndividual plansCan opt outBusiness plansWhat our review says
Gemini in Google WorkspaceProductivity · checked Oct 23, 2026No individual plan—Excluded“No training or human review outside your domain without permission”
GongMarketing & sales · checked Oct 23, 2026No individual plan—Excluded“data not used to train generative AI”
Google Agent Platform (Vertex AI)Developer platforms · checked Oct 23, 2026No individual plan—Excluded“Google says it does not train on customer data without permission.”
HubSpot Breeze and Agent HubMarketing & sales · checked Oct 22, 2026No individual plan—Yes, by default“HubSpot trains its own models on customer data by default, with a Super Admin opt-out that is not retroactive”
Intercom FinCustomer support · checked Oct 22, 2026No individual plan—Yes, by default“Anonymised customer data is used for fine-tuning by default (opt out and it is deleted within 30 days)”
Microsoft 365 CopilotProductivity · checked Oct 23, 2026No individual plan—Excluded“Prompts, responses and Graph data are not used to train foundation models”
Relevance AIAgents & automation · checked Oct 22, 2026No individual plan—Excluded“no training on customer data without a partnership agreement”
WRITERWriting · checked Oct 23, 2026No individual plan—Excluded“no training on customer data”

Training policy not stated (24)

Training policy not stated
ToolIndividual plansCan opt outBusiness plansWhat our review says
Adobe PodcastAudio & voice · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Not stated“Adobe Podcast pages state nothing about retention or training use of uploaded audio”
Beautiful.aiDesign & slides · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Not stated“whether deck content trains AI models is not published”
BraintrustDeveloper platforms · checked Oct 23, 2026Not stated—Not stated“no published statement on training use”
CapCutVideo · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Not stated“Terms grant CapCut a perpetual, irrevocable, sublicensable licence to uploaded content”
CursorCoding · checked Oct 23, 2026Not stated—Excluded“Privacy Mode keeps code out of training by Cursor and its providers and is on by default for teams”
DescriptVideo · checked Oct 23, 2026Not stated—Not stated“check the 'Share Data with Descript' setting, as policy wording on training differs”
ElicitSearch & research · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Excluded“A no-training commitment, SSO and SAML, and single-tenant AWS hosting are published for Enterprise only”
falDeveloper platforms · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Excluded“the no-training pledge covers enterprise customers”
Google FlowVideo · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Not stated“With 'Help improve Flow' on, interactions may be used to improve Google products and sampled by human reviewers”
GrokChat assistants · checked Oct 23, 2026Not stated—Excluded“API: no training without permission, 30-day retention for abuse review, team-wide ZDR available; Business and Enterprise under enterprise terms; consumer training defaults not verified for this review.”
Hailuo AIVideo · checked Oct 23, 2026Not stated—Not stated“The privacy policy does not say whether inputs or outputs train models”
IdeogramImage · checked Oct 23, 2026Not stated—Excluded“custom-model data on Pro and Team may train base models, Enterprise excluded”
JasperWriting · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Not stated“Retention, data residency and training of Jasper's own models are not published.”
KreaImage · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Excluded“The privacy policy does not say whether inputs train Krea's models and lists no certifications; Business adds no-training clauses”
MidjourneyImage · checked Oct 23, 2026Not stated—No business plan“Midjourney gets a perpetual, irrevocable licence to inputs and outputs”
PerplexitySearch & research · checked Oct 23, 2026Not stated—Excluded“Enterprise data is never used for training”
PitchDesign & slides · checked Oct 23, 2026Not stated—Not stated“AI providers and training use not published”
PoeChat assistants · checked Oct 23, 2026Not stated—No business plan“for third-party bots, to developers who may store and train on them”
Reclaim.aiProductivity · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Not stated“Training use is not published.”
ReplicateDeveloper platforms · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Not stated“SOC 2 status and training-use terms are not published on Replicate's site.”
SciteSearch & research · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Not stated“certifications, retention and training policy are not published on the pricing or MCP pages.”
SpeechifyAudio & voice · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Not stated“Uploaded content may be reviewed to improve Speechify's algorithms”
Superhuman MailProductivity · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—Not stated“your data is never used to train external AI models; the page is silent on its own models”
UdioAudio & voice · checked Oct 22, 2026Not stated—No business plan“Training data terms for user prompts and uploads are not published in the help centre”

Common questions

Does ChatGPT train on my data?
Yes, on individual accounts by default, and you can opt out. Business and enterprise plans are excluded. Our review says: “Consumer chats can be used for training unless you opt out; Business, Enterprise and Edu data is not used by default” Read our ChatGPT review
Does Claude train on my data?
Yes, on individual accounts by default, and you can opt out. Business and enterprise plans are excluded. Our review says: “Free, Pro and Max chats may be used for training unless you opt out” Read our Claude review
Does Google Gemini train on my data?
Yes, on individual accounts by default, and you can opt out. Business and enterprise plans are excluded. Our review says: “Personal accounts keep activity for 18 months by default and use it for training, with human review of a sample; with activity off, chats are held for 72 hours. Gemini Enterprise data is not used for training.” Read our Google Gemini review
Does Microsoft Copilot train on my data?
Yes, on individual accounts by default, and you can opt out. Business and enterprise plans are excluded. Our review says: “The Copilot app trains on signed-in adults' conversations by default, with an opt-out and exclusions for under-18s, Entra accounts and six countries” Read our Microsoft Copilot review
Does Meta AI train on my data?
Yes, on individual accounts by default. Our review says: “Interactions are used to improve Meta's AI” Read our Meta AI review
Does GitHub Copilot train on my data?
Yes, on individual accounts by default, and you can opt out. Business and enterprise plans are excluded. Our review says: “individual plans may train unless you opt out” Read our GitHub Copilot review
Does Cursor train on my data?
Its published policy does not say. Business and enterprise plans are excluded. Our review says: “Privacy Mode keeps code out of training by Cursor and its providers and is on by default for teams” Read our Cursor review
Does Grammarly train on my data?
Yes, on individual accounts by default. Business and enterprise plans are excluded. Our review says: “Training is on by default for Free and self-serve Pro and off and locked for Enterprise, sales-sold and Education accounts” Read our Grammarly review
Does Canva train on my data?
Yes, on individual accounts by default, and you can opt out. Business and enterprise plans are excluded. Our review says: “Free and Pro users control it themselves in privacy settings, and the current privacy policy says Canva may analyse content in their accounts to train its AI” Read our Canva review
Does DeepSeek train on my data?
Yes, on individual accounts by default, and you can opt out. Our review says: “inputs used for training, with opt-out by email to privacy@deepseek.com” Read our DeepSeek review
Does Notion AI train on my data?
No, according to its published policy. Business and enterprise plans are excluded. Our review says: “No training by Notion or its providers” Read our Notion AI review
Does Zapier train on my data?
No, according to its published policy. Business and enterprise plans are excluded. Our review says: “Workflow data not used for training; non-Enterprise plans must opt out of build-pattern learning” Read our Zapier review